My Sixth Special Friday Ends At Plaquemine 2nd-Half Comeback Victory! By Super Scout Max Emfinger

My Sixth Special Friday Ends At Plaquemine 2nd-Half Comeback Victory! By Super Scout Max Emfinger

On Friday November 28, the Day After Thanksgiving, I had decided that I wanted to go see the New Orleans Jesuit play again against New Orleans Rummel in their Playoff Game, which I originally thought was going to be the Best Playoff Game of the Week. All of the Louisiana Playoff Schedules listed the Game as being played at 6:00 P.M in Tad Gormley Stadium in New Orleans and I knew exactly how to get to that Stadium, because it is located just across the Street from the Delgado Junior College Campus.

I really wanted to see these two Catholic Powerhouse-Teams play, because they would probably be playing Super Powerhouse John Curtis in the Division I Select State Championship the Following Weekend. Since this Game was going to Start at 6:00, I thought that I could get back to Plaquemine and Green Devil Football Stadium and be able to see the Second-Half of the Plaquemine and South Terrebonne Playoff Game.

I had to pick-up some Supplies at Office Depot in Baton Rouge, so I left Plaquemine at around 2:00, so I could get my Supplies and then, get on to New Orleans. Everything went great and I got off to New Orleans at around 4:00.

So, I’m about half-way to New Orleans and I’m listening to WWL Sports Talk Radio and they are interviewing the Jesuit Football Coach, Mark Songy, and they ask him if playing his game a day later was going to affect his players. I first thought that this was a Taped Interview from Thursday, but as the Interview went on, I started to realize that it was a live Interview and the Jesuit and Rummel Game was going to be played on Saturday. I’m sure that most Newspapers must have said Saturday, but in the Friday Advocate, it did not mention that it was on Saturday.

So, then I realized that I was headed to Tad Gormley Stadium and to the Friday 6:00 Game between John Curtis and Brother Martin. I also knew that Zachary was playing Scotlandville at home and I would have rather seen that game, so at the next Exit, I turned around and headed back to Zachary, which is a Suburb of Baton Rouge. The Zachary Broncos took a 21-0 Lead in the Second Quarter with Star Junior QB Lindsey Scott and Senior WR Maurice Flowers Showing their Super-Star Status, but I had seen enough and so I headed back to Plaquemine to Check The Green Devils. Oh Yeah! Zachary won 41-26, but when I got into my Jeep Commander, I found out that South Terrebonne was ahead of the Green Devils by a 14-6 score in the Second Quarter.

As I was pulling-up in the Parking Lot and walked on-to the Field, I realized that I had just seen the last play of the First Half and The Green Devils, who were the #1 Seed in the Louisiana 4A Playoffs, but they were losing by a 14-6 Score.

This is the First Time, since 1961, that The Green Devils had made it all the way to the Louisiana Semi-Finals and they were not going to let a First Half Lead by South Terrebonne get in their way of getting to the Semi-Finals, once again.

As the Green Devil Players and Coaches started coming off of the field, I High-Fived a few Players and Coaches, who are my Friends. Then I looked around and it looked like Green Devil Homecoming as Former Green Devil QB Ryan Travis and 2014 All-American Bowl Game MVP Linebacker Orlando Batiste were both on the Sideline. Plus, I saw 2007 All-American Bowl WR “Speedy” Phillip Livas on the South Terrebonne Sideline as he is the South Terrebonne Receivers Coach, at his old Alma Mater.

Green Devils Defensive Back Coach JaKouri Williams did not play in one of my All-American Bowl Games, but he did participate in one of my Super Combines in 2003 and he was the 2011 All-American Bowl Game East Team Running Backs Coach. Williams is also back at his Alma Mater. Both Livas and Williams are Scheduled to be Coaches in the 2015 All-American Bowl Game.

As the Green Devils came back on the Field for the Second Half, I told them all that the Second Half was going to be Special for them and it was. In Fact, it was more than just Special as the Green Devils scored 21 Straight Points to Begin the Second Half and then they went on to win 33-22.

It all started when Junior Super-Star RB Austin Mitchell scored on a simple 9-Yard Touchdown Run to bring the score to 14-12, but the Momentum was literally, now with The Green Devils, because you will not believe what happened on the very next play.  On The Green Devils Kickoff, after the Austin Mitchell Touchdown, one of the South Terrebonne lineman muffed the Short Kickoff and the Football bounced right into the Green Devils Hands.

I guess by this time, everyone in the Stands and on the Sideline could sense what was about to happen and it did not make any difference where the ball was placed, Mitchell was going to run as far as he had to, to score the “Go-Ahead” Touchdown, but he did run 34-Yards, on the Run-Option Pitch by Senior Super-Star QB D’Morea Wicks.

Then on the First play of the Fourth Quarter, Wicks faked the Option Pitch and raced 41-Yards for another Touchdown, bringing the score to 26-14 in Favor of The Green Devils. And to Put The Icing on the Cake, Super Two-Way Senior Joe Keller (6-2, 210, 4.5) intercepted a pass and raced, untouched, 57-Yards for the Final Green Devils Touchdown.

I have been watching Keller all Season make big plays, on both sides of the Football, but his Interception got him an Invitation to join his Teammates OC/DE Kenny Dotson (6-3, 255, 4.9) and LB/SS Louis Conerly (6-0, 210, 4.5) to play in the Eleventh Annual All-American Bowl Game. Keller has also accepted his Invite to play with his two Green Devil Teammates. Super-Star South Terrebonne DE Pete LeBeouf (6-4, 265, 4.7) has also Accepted his Invitation.

About maxemfingerrecruiting

My mission and goal is to search for that hidden high school football talent that has not been found yet. I then evaluate him and try to help him to get some publicity. In 2003, 2004, 2005. and 2006, I hosted my Annual 7on7 National Championship. My goal was to get great athletes to one area where I could evaluate them and then help them with college coaches. The only drawback was that college coaches wanted to see the hidden gems in a game-type highlight film and so the college coaches suggested to me that I host a real All-American Bowl Game so that they could view these talented players in a highlight film, playing against other talented players. It's noted that the NCAA doesn't allow the college coaches to attend All-American Games or practices and so the Game Film is a great tool for the college coaches. In 2005, I hosted my 1st Annual All-American Bowl Game. In nine games in nine years, my wife and I have helped 549 HS football players to get a scholarship that came to our first Bowl Game practice without a single scholarship offer. This also does not count over 1,000 players who we have helped that did not play in our game, including over 100 players in the 2010 Recruiting Season. My Super Elite Top Gun Camp idealogy, is of course, to get as many Top Football Players to a Top Gun Camp so that all of my coaches and I can evaluate them, rate them, rank them, and promote them. There will always be "Diamonds in the Rough" to be found. My First Annual Max Emfinger's Super Elite Top Gun Camp was in July of 2010. The Camp was amazing and loaded with unknown and known talent. Many of them were invited to play in our 2011 All-American Bowl Game Classic. In 2007, in my 3rd Annual All-American Bowl Game, a player by the name of Kareem Jackson came to our first Monday practice, without a single scholarship offer. Jackson decided to come out early and he became a #1 Draft Choice in the 2010 NFL Draft for the Houston Texans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

