The Most Incredible Journey Not Taken! By Super Scout Max Emfinger


THE MOST INCREDIBLE JOURNEY NOT-TAKEN!

By Super Scout Max Emfinger

Have you ever planned a Really Great Trip and in your plans, you include two or three things that are “Musts” on the Trip and nothing can get in the way for you to achieve it. Oh wait! Nothing, but maybe the Weather or the possibility of Really Bad Weather.

It all started when I scheduled a meeting with the Lady in Lafayette about a Stadium. I originally scheduled the meeting in the Afternoon around 1:00 on Friday September 12. This way, I could finish the meeting and then meet with some people in Lafayette for a late Lunch, just before going to the Lafayette Comeaux Football Game against Alexandria.

I wanted to see Super Star Wide Receiver Hunter Register (6-4, 185, 4.38) and his OT Teammate Todd Noel (6-3, 320, 5.2). Then, I could catch the Second Half of the Lafayette Northside Game with Carencro in Carencro, just off the Interstate 10 from Lafayette. By getting to the Second Half of the Carencro Game, it would give me an opportunity to see the two Super Stars for Northside, OT Oshea Dugas (6-5, 300, 4.8) and QB/ATH Ethan Rose (6-0, 190, 4.3) and also WR Donald Stokes (6-2, 190, 4.42) of Carencro.

This would be The Incredible Journey, but wait. On my way back home after the Carencro Game, I might even be able to catch the Last Quarter of Plaquemine and Brusly at the Brusly Stadium on my way back home to Plaquemine.

This was the Original Plan, but the Lady wanted to see me in the Morning, before Noon, so I had to re-schedule her meeting at 10:00 A.M. Everything went really great, but we finished our meeting at 11:00 A.M.

I was going to have Lunch with Harold and Gena Register, the parents of Hunter Register, but since I finished my Meeting early, I was going to have to wait about an hour for them to get off work for Lunch. We decided to meet at Lauri’s II at 1904 West University in Lafayette. This really worked out great, because I was able to sit down  with both Harold and Gena Register; plus Harold Register III and a Surprise guest #12 Hunter Register, who had just gotten out of school to be with us.

We really had a great visit and I found out from Harold that Alexandria did not have a great team and that Comeaux Head Coach Kevin McGee was probably not going to throw the Football very much and that Hunter was not going to get very many passes thrown his way. This got me to thinking that I might need to go to the First Half of the Carencro and Northside Game and then catch the Second Half of the Comeaux and Alexandria Game.

As we left Lauri’s II at about 2:00, Harold Register led me to Comeaux High School and their Football Stadium, so I could get back there for the Second Half Kickoff. As I was a little early to get to Carencro, I decided to go back to look at the Football Stadium in Lafayette and Practice Fields and I did just that, finishing at around 3:30.

So at around 3:30, I headed to Carencro and the Weather was great, but as I got to Interstate 10, a huge Rain Storm started coming down, but I kept driving toward Carencro, but now is the time that it started to get really Tricky. It was 4:00 by now and my thoughts were that I was getting ready to go to a High School Football Game and be Standing on the Sideline in the Rain. This obviously did not sound too interesting and believe me, I’ve done it numerous times and it’s not fun.

Since it was not raining at Comeaux High School went I left it, I decided to go back to Comeaux and watch Hunter Register and Todd Noel play and then catch the players at Northside and Carencro at later dates. Actually, I had already seen numerous  Highlight Film on all of the players on this page, but getting to see them in person is always an Added Excitement for me, plus I also might be able to find another one of their Teammates to Invite to the All-American Bowl Game Classic and I had Three Invitations with me.

So I get back to Interstate 10 and the Lafayette Exit, and it’s around 4:30, but it is pouring down rain so hard I could hardly see the car in front of me and so I made a really quick decision to keep going straight on Interstate 10 East back to Plaquemine. I got to Brusly at around 5:30, but kept going another Five Miles to Plaquemine.

Thus: The Incredible Journey Not Taken!

By missing these three games, I missed some of the most Incredible Performances of the Weekend in the Country.

I missed Hunter Register record his Third and Fourth Kick Returns for Touchdowns in only two games. Register returned a 43-Yard Interception for a Touchdown in the Third Quarter; to go with his 59-Yard Punt Return for a Touchdown as he led the Comeaux Spartans to a 36-9 Victory over Alexandria.

His Interception was Incredible as the Football bounced off the Wide Receiver’s hands and then before it hit the ground, it bounced-up off of the Wide Receiver’s Foot. As the Football bounced straight up, Register grabbed it out of the air and raced 43-Yards to the End-Zone for the Touchdown to give the Spartans a 22-3 lead in the Third Quarter. Last Week, against Cecilia, Register Returned a Punt 42-Yards and a Kickoff 70-Yards for Touchdowns.

In the Northside and Carencro Game, I missed Super Athletic QB #17 Ethan Rose (In Photo) Rushed for 141-Yards and Scored on a 43-Yard Touchdown Run in the First Quarter and a 12-Yard Touchdown in the Second Quarter. Rose also threw a 13-Yard Touchdown Pass just before Halftime, but Carencro won the game by a 28-19.

Northside quarterback Ethan Rose Jr. (17) sprints toward the end zone for a touchdown during the first half of an LHSAA football game at Carencro High School in Carencro, La., Friday, Sept. 12, 2014.  Paul Kieu, The Advertiser

And finally, in the Plaquemine Game against Brusly, I missed Plaquemine QB D’Morea Wicks run for 185-Yards on 22 carries and he scored Two Touchdowns on runs of 89-Yards in the Second Quarter and 5-Yards in the Fourth Quarter as the Green Devils won by a 47-20 Score at Brusly. Wicks and three of his Offensive Linemen, including OT Kevin Dotson (6-5, 315, 5.3); Twin Brother OC Kenny Dotson (6-3, 255, 4.9); and OT Jodeci Harris (6-7, 341, 5.3) have been invited to play in the All-American Bowl Game and they played exceptionally well in this game so Wicks could gain 185-Yards Rushing; plus the Green Devils Totaled an Amazing 456-Yards Rushing.

Oh well, next week is coming up and I’ll be somewhere. And on October 3, I’ll be back at Carencro to see Comeaux play.

About maxemfingerrecruiting

My mission and goal is to search for that hidden high school football talent that has not been found yet. I then evaluate him and try to help him to get some publicity. In 2003, 2004, 2005. and 2006, I hosted my Annual 7on7 National Championship. My goal was to get great athletes to one area where I could evaluate them and then help them with college coaches. The only drawback was that college coaches wanted to see the hidden gems in a game-type highlight film and so the college coaches suggested to me that I host a real All-American Bowl Game so that they could view these talented players in a highlight film, playing against other talented players. It's noted that the NCAA doesn't allow the college coaches to attend All-American Games or practices and so the Game Film is a great tool for the college coaches. In 2005, I hosted my 1st Annual All-American Bowl Game. In nine games in nine years, my wife and I have helped 549 HS football players to get a scholarship that came to our first Bowl Game practice without a single scholarship offer. This also does not count over 1,000 players who we have helped that did not play in our game, including over 100 players in the 2010 Recruiting Season. My Super Elite Top Gun Camp idealogy, is of course, to get as many Top Football Players to a Top Gun Camp so that all of my coaches and I can evaluate them, rate them, rank them, and promote them. There will always be "Diamonds in the Rough" to be found. My First Annual Max Emfinger's Super Elite Top Gun Camp was in July of 2010. The Camp was amazing and loaded with unknown and known talent. Many of them were invited to play in our 2011 All-American Bowl Game Classic. In 2007, in my 3rd Annual All-American Bowl Game, a player by the name of Kareem Jackson came to our first Monday practice, without a single scholarship offer. Jackson decided to come out early and he became a #1 Draft Choice in the 2010 NFL Draft for the Houston Texans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

