Today Is National Signing Day! By Super Scout Max Emfinger

2013 ABG Max Emfinger with team
TODAY IS NATIONAL SIGNING DAY
Super Scout Max Emfinger

Today is National Signing Day. I guess that most of you are not even Aware of what this means! It simply means that Today is the Day that High School Football Players Sign their National Letters of Intent with their Favorite College.

I thought about writing this Story last night, but this morning, I just was not “Fired-Up” to write it. I will say, however, that at one time in my Life, this was one of my biggest Days of the Year. So when I went to the Store and heard on the Radio that this was a Huge Day for High School Football Players, at 4:00 P.M. I went home and started writing this story.

In 1976, shortly after Coach Tom Landry had given me the Title of Super Scout, I left the Dallas Cowboys and went to work for Lanier Business Products as a Sales Manager in Midland, Texas. I left the Cowboys, because the Job Offer from Lanier was for about three times the amount of money that I was making with the Cowboys. I stayed there for two years and then another Company, MiCom Business Products, hired me away and sent me to Houston, Texas where I was previously Married in 1971. By now, it was 1979 and I was still anxious to get back into Scouting so my wife, Ginger, said: “If you don’t like what the Sportswriters and Sports Pages are saying, why don’t you just start your own Football Recruiting Service.”

So in 1979, I Founded the First High School Football Recruiting Service. In three years, I had 12,500 Paid Subscribers to my National High School Football Recruiting Service and I was doing Recruiting Radio Guest Appearances from Coast to Coast. I also became the First Independent Person who Rated and Ranked the Recruiting Classes in the Country and Started appearing on all of the Major TV Sports Shows on either National Signing Day or the Day after.

In 1985, I appeared on the Roy Firestone Show on ESPN. Also in that same year, on National Signing Day, I appeared on 26 Radio Talk Shows and 39 in two days.

Starting in 1983, I Selected the USA Today All-American Team and I was a Consultant on the Parade All-American Team. One of those years, one High School player had drown in the Summer, but he was mistakenly still on the Parade All-American Team Ballot in December until I corrected them.

Although it’s been thirty years, Politics is still as prevalent as ever and nothing has ever really changed. After 20 years of this constant Politics, I gave up my very profitable Recruiting Service so that I could help more High School Football Players to get more Publicity so they could get a College Football Scholarship.

The Sportswriters and Recruiting Services of Today or just like they were 20 and 30 years ago. They only want to write about the players that are Rated Fairly or Unfairly as the best players, while many of these players are Overrated, the Sportswriters don’t care about the Super Players that are not being Heavily Recruited.

These Super Under-Rated Players are the Players that I have been able to find to play in one of my Ten All-American Bowl Games. Kareem Jackson came to our Third Annual All-American Bowl Game with No Offers and he became a #1 Draft Choice in 2010. Alfred Morris was another player in that same Third Annual All-American Bowl Game and he was NFL Rookie of the Year in 2012.

Just this past month, we had 106 Players that played in our Tenth Annual All-American Bowl Game and some of these players were Sensational. In fact, we had a couple Wide Receivers, a couple Quarterbacks, and a couple Linebackers that are as good as any players at those positions that will sign with their favorite school today.

We also had 67 Players that came to our First Practice with No Offers and They will Sign A National Letter of Intent today or later this month. There could be more!

So as you can see Coach! I’m still a Super Scout!

ALL-AMERICAN BOWL GAME HIGH DRAFT CHOICES

In the first previous nine games, The All-American Bowl Game Classic, has helped 563 players to get a scholarship.All of these players were fabulous football players who, for various reasons, had been “Flying under the Recruiting Radar” with the College Coaches. The All-American Bowl Game Classic, also has had some very distinguished Alumnus, including two #1 Draft Choices; two #2 Draft Choices; and four #3 Draft Choices. Kareem Jackson, Alfred Morris, Lawrence Wilson, and Vick Ballard did not have a single scholarship offer when they reported for their first AABG practice. Dalton and Looney had one offer.

NIFTY NINETEEN MAX EMFINGER AABG NFL DRAFT PICKS
1. OT Trent Williams, Oklahoma – Washington Redskins 2010 #1 – #4 Overall
2. CB Kareem Jackson, Alabama – Houston Texans 2010 #1 – #20 Overall
3. QB Andy Dalton, TCU – Cincinnati Bengals 2011 #2 – #35 Overall
4. DT Lamarr Houston, Texas – Oakland Raiders 2010 #2 – #44 Overall
5. WR Damian Williams, USC – Tennessee Titans 2010 #3 – #53 Overall
6. DT Terrell McClain, S Florida – Carolina Panthers 2011 #3 – #65 Overall
7. DE Damontre Moore, Texas A&M – New York Giants 2013 #3 – #81 Overall
8.
NG Drake Nevis, LSU – Indianapolis Colts 2011 #3 – #87 Overall
9
. DT Jay Howard, Florida – Seattle Seahawks 2012 #4 – #170 Overall
10
. OG Joe Looney, Wake Forest – Cincy Bengals 2012 #4 – #117 Overall
11. TE Lee Smith, Marshall – New England Patriots 2011 #5 – #159 Overall
12. RB Vick Ballard, Miss State – Indianapolis Colts 2012 #5 – #170 Overall
13. LB Lawrence Wilson, U-Conn – Carolina Panthers 2011 #6 – #166 Overall
14. RB Alfred Morris, FAU – Washington Redskins 2012 #6 – 173 Overall
15. FS Charles Mitchell, Miss State – Atlanta Falcons 2012 #6 – 192 Overall
16. RB Charles Scott, LSU – Philadelphia Eagles 2010 #6 – 200 Overall
17. OT Marcel Jones, Nebraska – New Orleans Saints 2012 #7 – #234 Overall
18. OT Lee Ziemba, Auburn – Carolina Panthers 2011 #7 – #244 Overall
19. NG Everett Dawkins, Florida State – Minnesota Vikings 2013 #7 – #229 Overall

About maxemfingerrecruiting

My mission and goal is to search for that hidden high school football talent that has not been found yet. I then evaluate him and try to help him to get some publicity. In 2003, 2004, 2005. and 2006, I hosted my Annual 7on7 National Championship. My goal was to get great athletes to one area where I could evaluate them and then help them with college coaches. The only drawback was that college coaches wanted to see the hidden gems in a game-type highlight film and so the college coaches suggested to me that I host a real All-American Bowl Game so that they could view these talented players in a highlight film, playing against other talented players. It's noted that the NCAA doesn't allow the college coaches to attend All-American Games or practices and so the Game Film is a great tool for the college coaches. In 2005, I hosted my 1st Annual All-American Bowl Game. In nine games in nine years, my wife and I have helped 549 HS football players to get a scholarship that came to our first Bowl Game practice without a single scholarship offer. This also does not count over 1,000 players who we have helped that did not play in our game, including over 100 players in the 2010 Recruiting Season. My Super Elite Top Gun Camp idealogy, is of course, to get as many Top Football Players to a Top Gun Camp so that all of my coaches and I can evaluate them, rate them, rank them, and promote them. There will always be "Diamonds in the Rough" to be found. My First Annual Max Emfinger's Super Elite Top Gun Camp was in July of 2010. The Camp was amazing and loaded with unknown and known talent. Many of them were invited to play in our 2011 All-American Bowl Game Classic. In 2007, in my 3rd Annual All-American Bowl Game, a player by the name of Kareem Jackson came to our first Monday practice, without a single scholarship offer. Jackson decided to come out early and he became a #1 Draft Choice in the 2010 NFL Draft for the Houston Texans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today Is National Signing Day! By Super Scout Max Emfinger

  1. Eric Emfinger says:

    Great story on insights about signing day. Hopefully one day all the colleges will look how players did in your game and not solely on political rankings that leave out the players “flying under the recruiting rad.”

    Love you Dad
    Eric

    • Eric, You are also one of the All-American Bowl Game Founders. I will never forget in the 2007 Game when you paid for two of the Team Dinners with your Money. This was the same game that Kareem Jackson and Alfred Morris played in. Now, In 2014, you will be one of our Board Members in our All-American Bowl Game Foundation.

Leave a Reply

