DC

July 22, 2012

Team Owner Jerry Jones – Facebook Friend and
Talent Scout Will McClay – Linkedin Friend

Dallas Cowboys Football Club
One Legends Way
Arlington, Texas 76011

Dear Gentlemen,

It’s been a long time since I called the Dallas Cowboys my home, but I have kept up with the Dallas Cowboys ever since I left in 1976. When I was working for Coach Tom Landry and Gil Brandt, I felt that I really was able to help the Dallas Cowboys to be successful and I think I might be able to help the Dallas Cowboys again.

I am sending both of you this Proposal, because Coach Jones is a Facebook Friend of mine and Coach McClay is one of my Linkedin Friends. I have a great proposal and I hope that both of you will read this proposal and feel the same way that I do.

In 1974, after spending two years as a GA for Coach Hayden Fry, at The University of North Texas, I got a call from Gil Brandt of the Dallas Cowboys. He told me that he had an opening for a Talent Scout with the Dallas Cowboys. I interviewed for the job and was all set to take the job when they decided not to hire another Talent Scout.

In the meantime, I had interviewed with Lanier Business Products to get back into a Sales position. Then, one day, I got another call from Lanier Business Products. Later that month, I took the job as a Salesman with the Lanier Business Products in Dallas, Texas. As a word-processing and dictating salesman, I became one of their top salesmen and I was already being groomed to be a Sales Manager or a National Sales Trainer. I also won three Salesmen of the Month Awards.

About one year later, I got another call from Gil Brandt. “Max, we are now ready to hire another Talent Scout and I was wondering if you were still interested?” So I became a Dallas Cowboys Talent Scout. This was like a Dream-Come-True.

One of the reasons that Gil hired me was because he was impressed with my innovativeness and hard work and he hired me to become his in-house assistant Talent Scout. As his assistant, I developed some pretty exciting innovative programs that the Cowboys were still using for a few years after I left. 

One day, Gil said he had a project for me and asked me to follow him down the hall. As I followed him, we walked into one of the Coaching Staff Board Meeting Rooms where Coach Tom Landry and Coach Ernie Stautner were waiting for us.

“Max, we want you to develop a Flip Chart for our Coaching Staff,” said Coach Landry. The Flip Chart that I coordinated was the rating and ranking of every current NFL Player. I then color-coded every player in the NFL as to his rating and ranking.

Blue = All-NFL; Red = Future or Past All-NFL; Green = Average NFL Player; and Yellow = Rookie or Two-year NFL player.

I developed this huge “Flip-Chart” with each NFL Team. Then, a Color-Coded Business-Card with the name of each player was placed in the “Flip-Chart” sleeve for each position on the field for both the offense and defense of each NFL Team.

The Late Legendary Coaches, Landry and Defensive Coordinator Coach Stautner used this color-coded system as info in their weekly scouting report in preparation for their next game.

Another Dallas Cowboys Project that I coordinated was the development of a Texas Top 100 High School Football Recruiting List for College Coaches. We did this as a favor to College Coaches. We gave this list to every college team in the country that recruited Texas players and that included almost every single college team in the country.

I loved being a Dallas Cowboys Scout, but Lanier was calling me almost every day to come back to work for them. Then one day, Lanier offered me a job that I couldn’t pass-up. They offered me the job of Lanier Sales Manager in Midland, Texas.

This job would effectively triple my income! I really did not want to leave the Dallas Cowboys, but there was just too much money involved.

I decided to go talk to the Late Dallas Cowboys President and General Manager Tex Schramm to see if they could either match the Laniersalary and commission figures or at least give me a raise. “Max, you have done a great job for us and we love you. Soon, you will receive a raise, but it sounds like you have a pretty fantastic offer that you can’t pass-up,” said Tex Schramm.

I was the Lanier Sales Manager in Midland for two years and then was hired away by Micom Word Processing International to take over as their Micom Houston Branch Manager. After about a year, I left to start my own Recruiting Service.

In 1979, I started the first ever High School Football Recruiting/Scouting Service. It was a service to help high school football players to get publicity so that they could be noticed by college coaches; for college recruiting buffs so they could find out who was being recruited; and for college coaches to get extra information about high school football recruits that might not be on their recruiting boards.

In 1980, my Recruiting Service was the first independent recruiting source to Rate and Rank a high school football player. I was also the first independent source to rate and rank a college football recruiting class after The 1980 National Signing Date. In 1985, I had approximately 10,500 paid subscribers to my National HS Recruiting Newsletter.

Whether you are a college football coach and you only have one scholarship left to give in your current recruiting class or you are an NFL team and you only have one Draft Choice left in your current NFL Draft, there needs to be a rating system that you can go to and based on the highest rated player, would give you the very best player available regardless of position.

When I was with the Dallas Cowboys, we thought that the more information that we had on a player, the more accurate decisions we could make on that player. This is the reason that we were so successful in our NFL Draft, because we had probably more information on every player and we were able to make more valid decisions on each player, based on that information. 

When I left the Dallas Cowboys in 1976, I developed a similar rating system that was used with the Cowboys, but I shelved my RATING SYSTEM until 2001.

So in 2001, when NIKE developed a similar rating system and called it The SPARQ RATING SYSTEM, I decided to bring back my RATING SYSTEM and I called it the MAX EMFINGER ASSET RATING SYSTEM or MEARS RATING.

ASSET stands for Agility, Strength, Stamina, Explosiveness, and Technique. These are the essential tools for a superior athletic performance in any competitive event. This new MEARS RATING SYSTEMidentifies overall athletic ability and the MEARS INDEX RATING will be used by top College and Pro coaches and trainers around the country as an initial indicator of the athletic potential of an athlete on the football field.

Before I brought my original MEARS RATING SYSTEM back, I decided that it needed a little tweaking and so I called one of my friends: The Legendary and long-time strength- coach genius, Boyd Epley.  Before Coach Epley was hired by Legendary Cornhuskers Head Coach and athletic director Bob Devaney in September 1969; the strength and conditioning on a football team was really non-existent.

For years, strength and conditioning had existed largely as an underground movement at a handful of schools like a Knights Templar-esque Secret Society. Coach Epley changed all of that and he is still considered to be the Father of the new Strength and Training methods that we now use today. Coach Epley was the one person that I wanted to help me with my tweak. In 1978, Coach Epley formed the National Strength and Conditioning Association and he is still the Director.

Max, we have got to set a standard for each position for every set of measurable testing at a Super Combine,” said Coach Epley and then we worked on a set of standards for each position. “The standard for a defensive tackle, for example, has been 6-3 and 275 for twenty years and although the players are getting bigger, stronger, and faster, we don’t need to keep changing the medium standard, said Epley, “but our ratings will continue to go higher as the players will achieve to get bigger, stronger, and faster.”

This Formula is based on each individual position and is based on a MEDIUM STANDARD for that position for every test or measurable in a Super Combine. So each position has a standard for each test and measurable. A player will get plus points for every tenth of a second over the position standard, but a maximum of 400 points. Example: In the 2010 NFL DraftLamarr Houston, who played in our 2006 All-American Bowl Game Classic,  ran a 4.84 in the forty and the standard for an defensive lineman is 5.2, so he received 360 points in the forty.

Forty-Yard Dash – The Forty-yard dash (40) is a test of raw speed, stamina, and explosiveness. It is a test of pure speed from Point A to Point B. Technique is also very important. This is a very good test of measure for all skill players who may have to run 40-yards in a football game, but it is important to be able to run the medium for your position. You get 10-points for every .10 under the medium standard with a maximum 400 points.

Fletcher Cox of Mississippi State and Kendall Reyes of U-Conn ran a 4.79 in the forty and they both received the maximum 400 points in the forty.  

Vertical Jump – The Vertical Jump (VJ) is a test of leg explosiveness, power, and quickness. Technique is also very important in this test. This test is a good measurable for wide receivers, cornerbacks, and safeties. The standard for a defensive lineman is a 24-inch vertical jump. Each inch over the standard, a player gets 20 points. Lamarr Houston did a 34-inch vertical jump and received 200 points. In the 2010 NFL DraftNdamukong Suh did a 35.5 and he received 230 points in the vertical jump.

In the 2012 NFL Draft, Mike Martin of Michigan did a 33.5 and got 190 points, while Kendall Reyes and Markus Kuhn did a 34.5 and received 210 points. Kheeton Randle did a 34-inch vertical jump and received 200 points.  OT Donald Stephenson of Oklahoma did a 35.5 vertical jump and received 230 points, while DE Nick Perry of Southern Cal did a 38.5-inch vertical jump and he received 290 points.

The standard for a cornerback is a 28-inch vertical jump and Josh Robinson of Central Floridadid a 38.5-inch vertical jump and he received 210 points for his vertical jump; while Ron Brooks of LSU did a 38-inch vertical and received 200-points. Super Athlete and All-Purpose Back Marcus Mendoza of Nebraska did an incredible 45.5-inch vertical jump and he received 350-points.

Pro-Agility Shuttle – The Pro-Agility Shuttle (SH) is a test of agility, speed, lateral quickness, change of direction, and overall body coordination. Technique is also very important in this test. An athlete should be able to do this test in about two tenths of a second faster than he can run a forty-yard dash. Lamarr Houston did a 4.71 in the pro-agility shuttle and the medium standard for a defensive lineman is a 5.1. The maximum number of points given in this test is 400 points, so Houston got 400 points in this event.

Jaye Howard of Florida ran a very impressive 4.47 in the pro-shuttle and Fletcher Cox also did a 4.53 and both received the maximum 400 points; while Dontari Poe of Memphis did a 4.56; Mike Martin did a 4.25; Jerel Worthy of Michigan State did a 4.56; Devon Still of Penn State did a 4.65; Marcus Forston of Miami did a 4.61; Derek Wolfe of Cincinnati did a 4.44; Hebron Fangupo of BYU ran a 4.62; Brett Roy of Nevada ran a 4.42; Tony Jerod-Eddie of Texas A&M ran a 4.54; and Markus Kuhn ran a 4.41 and they all received the maximum 400 points. Howard played in our 2007 All-American Bowl Game Classic.

Standing Broad Jump – The Standing Broad Jump (SBJ) is a test that is similar to the Vertical Jump in that it measures how far you can jump instead of how high. It is also similar to the long jump in track, except the player will not get a running start, but rather jump from a standing position. It measures explosion, power, quickness, and lower body strength. This test is a great measure for running backs, linemen, tight ends, and linebackers.

Bench Press – The Bench Press (BP) is a test of pure strength and stamina. The test measures how many bench press reps a high school or college athlete can do of 185 pounds or 225-pounds. Technique is also very important. This test is a good measure for every player on the football field although quarterbacks, wide receivers and cornerbacks do not need to excel in this event. College and pro athletes use 225 pounds on the bench press instead of 185 pounds. The medium standard is 24 reps for all offensive and defensive linemen with 20-points for every rep over the medium standard, but a maximum 200-points. The points do not change. Example: Dontari Poe of Memphis did 44 reps; Brandon Thompson of Clemson did 36 reps; Mike Martin did 36 reps; Kendall Reyes did 36 reps; Marcus Forston did 35 reps; and Hebron Fangupo did 36 reps and they all received the maximum 200 points. 

Technique – Technique is also very important in every single event, especially in the running events. The pro-agility shuttle and Standing Broad Jump is all technique. Getting a bad start in the other running events can make the difference in a great timing or a poor timing.

Although the SPARQ System became popular, it still had some flaws, because the SPARQ RATING SYSTEM was not originally based on a player’s position, but his weight. If the system is not based on the position of the player, then how are you going to decide who the best player is at each position? If the RATING SYSTEM is based on the player position, then you will know how a player relates to his position.

If you have only one Draft Choice or one scholarship left, the MEARS RATINGwill give you the highest rated player regardless of his position. To get this MEARS RATING, more information, including HT, WT, 40, VJ, Pro-Shuttle, SBJ, and 185-pound BP reps for high school players and 225-pound BP reps for college players are put into the formula and all of this is based upon the standard for his position.  “You really don’t need the three cone drill, because it is not needed if you use the pro-agility shuttle with the others,” said Coach Boyd Epley.

“Quarterbacks and kickers are always going to be hard to measure, because they either do not go to Super Combines or they do extremely poor at the Combine,” said Coach Epley. So these two positions must be evaluated very carefully on film or in person and then their rating is going to be estimated. Max, you will learn how to evaluate them and give them an honest rating.”

My mission and goal as a Talent Scout, is to search for that hidden high school football talent that has not been found yet. I then evaluate him and try to help him to get some publicity so they can get a college football scholarship.

In 2003, I hosted my First Annual 7on7 National Championshipand I hosted a 7on7 National Championship in 2004, 2005, and 2006. My goal was to get great athletes to one area where I could evaluate them and then help them with college coaches.

The only drawback was that college coaches wanted to see the hidden gems in a game-type highlight film and so the college coaches suggested to me that I host a real All-American Bowl Game so that they could view these talented players in a highlight film, playing against other talented players. It’s noted that the NCAA doesn’t allow the college coaches to attend All-American Games and so the Game Film is a great tool to college coaches.

In 2005, I hosted my 1st Annual All-American Bowl Game Classic. In seven games in seven years, my wife and I have helped get 418 High School football players a scholarship that came to our first Bowl Game practice without a single scholarship offer. We currently have helped 60 more players from our Eighth Annual 2012 All-American Bowl Game Classic. This does not count over 500 players who we have helped that did not play in our game.

My Super Elite Top Gun Camp ideology, is of course, to get as many Top Football Players to a Top Gun Camp so that all of my coaches and I can evaluate them, rate them, rank them, and promote them. There will always be “Diamonds in the Rough” to be found.

My First Annual Max Emfinger’s Super Elite Top Gun Camp was in July of 2010. The Camp was amazing and loaded with unknown and known talent. Many of them were invited to play in our 2011 All-American Bowl Game Classic.

In 2007, in my 3rd Annual All-American Bowl Game, a player by the name of Kareem Jackson came to our first Monday practice, without a single scholarship offer. Jackson decided to come out early and he became a #1 Draft Choice in the 2010 NFL Draft for the Houston Texans

I firmly believe that I can help The Dallas Cowboys to host a Dallas Cowboys HS All-American Football Gameand that it can easily be better than the US Army All-American Bowl Game.  And, of course, the most perfect place to hold the game is in the New Dallas Cowboys Football Stadium. With The Dallas Cowboys hosting the game, I’m confident that every player in America would want to play in the game. I find players every day that are better than the preceived players who get all of the publicity.

Just this week, I have found another RGIII. In fact, I have found two RGIII Types and we can get at least one of them and maybe both of them as our first Dallas Cowboys All-American Bowl Game player at quarterback. I’m sure that I can be of some help to the Dallas Cowboys Football Club, if given another chance.  I have been a professional Talent Scout for a few-years.

Remember! These players will be Drafted in a short three or four years and the players that I am looking for to play in the All-American Bowl Game are those players who are Super Combine Freaks and players with High MEARS RATINGS like Trent Williams, Kareem Jackson, Fletcher Cox, Akiem Hicks, Marcel Jones, Vick Ballard, Lamarr Houston, Jaye Howard, and Drake Nevis. All of these High Draft Choices, except Hicks, did play in my game.

ALL-AMERICAN BOWL GAME HIGH DRAFT CHOICES

In the previous eight years, The All-American Bowl Game Classic has helped 480 players to get a scholarship. These players were fabulous football players who, for various reasons, had been “Flying under the Recruiting Radar” with the College Coaches. The All-American Bowl Game Classic also has had some very distinguished Alumnus, including two #1 Draft Choices; two #2 Draft Choices; and three #3 Draft Choices. Kareem Jackson, Larry Wilson, and Vick Ballard did not have a single scholarship offer when they reported for their first AABG practice.

 ALL-AMERICAN BOWL GAME HIGH DRAFT CHOICES

1. OT Trent Williams, OU – Washington Redskins 2010 #1 – #4 Overall
2. CB Kareem Jackson, Alabama – Houston Texans 2010 #1 – #20 Overall
3. QB Andy Dalton, TCU – Cincinnati Bengals 2011 #2 – #35 Overall
4. DT Lamarr Houston, Texas – Oakland Raiders 2010 #2 – #44 Overall
5. WR Damian Williams, USC – Tennessee Titans 2010 #3 – #53 Overall
6. DT Terrell McClain, S Florida – Carolina Panthers 2011 #3 – #65 Overall
7. NG Drake Nevis, LSU – Indianapolis Colts 2011 #3 – #87 Overall
8. DT Jay Howard, Florida – Seattle Seahawks 2012 #4 – #170 Overall
9. OG Joe Looney, Wake Forest – Cincy Bengals 2012 #4 – #117 Overall
10. TE Lee Smith, Marshall – New England Patriots 2011 #5 – #159 Overall
11. RB Vick Ballard, Miss State – Baltimore Colts 2012 #5 – #170 Overall
12. LB Larry Wilson, U-Conn – Carolina Panthers 2011 #6 – #166 Overall
13. FS Charles Mitchell, Miss State – Atlanta Falcons 2012 #6 – 192 Overall
14. RB Charles Scott, LSU – Philadelphia Eagles 2010 #6 – 200 Overall
15. OT Marcel Jones, Nebraska – New Orleans Saints 2012 #7 – #234 Overall
16. OT Lee Ziemba, Auburn – Carolina Panthers 2011 #7 – #244 Overall 

I know that I also can be of great help to the Dallas Cowboys Football Club, as a Talent Scout, if I am given the chance.  I have been a professional Talent Scout for a few-years.

In fact, for the last three years, I have used my MEARS RATING, to rate The Top 200 Players in the NFL Draft and I have given these reports to at least 48 NFL Scouts who are Linkedin Friends. I also did an individual position report on each position, while rating the Top 16 or 18 players with my MEARS RATINGS in each position. I have included The 2012 Defensive Tackles Report, for your viewing. 

The Dandy Dozen Defensive Tackles For The 2012 NFL Draft! By Super Scout Max Emfinger!

 http://wp.me/p2fDtb-bK

Since you Drafted Morris Claiborne as your 2012 #1 Draft Choice, I thought you might like to see my 2012 NFL Top Cornerbacks.

The Elite Eighteen Cornerbacks for the 2012 NFL Draft! By Super Scout Max Emfinger!

http://wp.me/p2fDtb-dX

CB Morris Claiborne is one of the greatest “Playmakers” in the 2012 NFL Draft. Claiborne was a fabulous wide receiver in high school and although he will be drafted as a cornerback, he looks like a great WR in this photo at the 2012 Scouting Combine.

Sincerely,

Max Emfinger
P.O. Box 604
Plaquemine, LA 70765
CELL ONE: 1-985-956-2517
CELL TWO: 1-985-351-4766

About maxemfingerrecruiting

My mission and goal is to search for that hidden high school football talent that has not been found yet. I then evaluate him and try to help him to get some publicity. In 2003, 2004, 2005. and 2006, I hosted my Annual 7on7 National Championship. My goal was to get great athletes to one area where I could evaluate them and then help them with college coaches. The only drawback was that college coaches wanted to see the hidden gems in a game-type highlight film and so the college coaches suggested to me that I host a real All-American Bowl Game so that they could view these talented players in a highlight film, playing against other talented players. It's noted that the NCAA doesn't allow the college coaches to attend All-American Games or practices and so the Game Film is a great tool for the college coaches. In 2005, I hosted my 1st Annual All-American Bowl Game. In nine games in nine years, my wife and I have helped 549 HS football players to get a scholarship that came to our first Bowl Game practice without a single scholarship offer. This also does not count over 1,000 players who we have helped that did not play in our game, including over 100 players in the 2010 Recruiting Season. My Super Elite Top Gun Camp idealogy, is of course, to get as many Top Football Players to a Top Gun Camp so that all of my coaches and I can evaluate them, rate them, rank them, and promote them. There will always be "Diamonds in the Rough" to be found. My First Annual Max Emfinger's Super Elite Top Gun Camp was in July of 2010. The Camp was amazing and loaded with unknown and known talent. Many of them were invited to play in our 2011 All-American Bowl Game Classic. In 2007, in my 3rd Annual All-American Bowl Game, a player by the name of Kareem Jackson came to our first Monday practice, without a single scholarship offer. Jackson decided to come out early and he became a #1 Draft Choice in the 2010 NFL Draft for the Houston Texans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

